Jayme Says…

Why I Love Conflict Resolution!

Posted on: April 5, 2010

Conflict resolution is a theory that we discussed in our Senior Seminar class. I love this theory because this is one theory that we get to see practiced on a daily basis. Conflict resolution is around us at all times, whether at work, at home, or at school, we are always solving problems. Situations come and it is our duty as adults to figure out how to resolve them. Here is a situation that I encountered when I saw conflict resolution at work.

I had an incident a few weeks ago where I misplaced my debit card. This would be a situation where panic is among the top of reactions, but not with me. I tried to retrace my steps, and when that did not work, I took action. I called the bank and they told me they could restrict the card use until I found it. I opted not to cancel it because we wanted to make sure it was just lost and not stolen. I also went to the bank and withdrew just enough money for me to get by until I found my card or got a new one. Conflict resolution is not the action of me misplacing my card, but what I did to resolve that issue.

The conflict was me losing my card. The resolution was me reporting my card lost and allowing them to put the restriction on it. Me withdrawing money from the bank was also a part of the resolution.

**I found my card a few days later by the way!

Leave a Reply

